Recommended portion sizes

Potentially a more random observation of mine, but it annoys me enough to write about it.

I am currently eating a tub of raspberries from a well known supermarket. The packaging helpfully tells me that if I eat 80g I have had one of my five a day. Reaching this target is an aim I can achieve most days. So let’s assume I eat 80g today. Tomorrow, I would like to do the same. BUT NO. The packet only has 150g. Why leave me 10g short from my target? Who thought this was a good idea?

I must admit I don’t always read the recommended portion size, but occasionally I will take note. Similar to the above, why provide me with 36 chicken nuggets in a bag and then recommend that I eat 5. I don’t intend to have 7.2 portions. Take one nugget out of each bag and everyone is a winner. I just don’t understand the logic behind this.

sugar

Something else that annoys me with this, is when they provide the nutritional value for a bizarre amount of the product. I have a sweet tooth, so when I have a packet of sweets – not the sharing kind – I’ll eat the packet in one go, yet the packet gives me the nutritional information for 7 sweets. I don’t think I’ve ever counted these sweets to know how this translates to a whole bag. Just tell me that I’m way over my sugar count for the day, I’ll be okay with that. I’m not okay with trying to work out if I’m two or three times over what the packet has designated as its number for telling me what to consume.

Guess I’ll just have to stick to guestimating how much to eat!

2 thoughts on “Recommended portion sizes

Leave a Reply

