Meat-Free Monday: The Final Take

Hopefully, you’ve enjoyed following my progress with my meat-Free Mondays, if not, don’t worry this will be my last post on the issue!

Starting my Meat-Free Monday journey, I think it was safe to say I was sceptical at best. Can cutting meat out of my diet one day a week really make any significant difference? I can’t say it has. My life has not been drastically altered by this experience. I’ve enjoyed it, particularly as I’ve cooked things I wouldn’t normally cook, and variety is everything, but it hasn’t been life altering.

I would also say moderation is key. The Western diet is particularly protein heavy. While this is enjoyable for most, it isn’t really ideal. Meat-Free Monday has cut out two portions of meat a week. This small change is unlikely to change the world but it is a step in the right direction. I think we should be aware of the food groups we are over and under achieving with. Check out the helpful food plate to know where you should be!

food-plate

It is a change I would encourage other people to try – it is easier than you think! I have still continued to eat meat throughout the week and I continue to enjoy it. It is a minor change that I will try to continue with. I’m not going to be strict about this, if I get a dinner invite and the menu doesn’t offer me a suitable vegetarian option, I’ll eat meat. It is a change that your diet can accommodate and helps you to think about food other than meat and its accompaniments. I also don’t know how on board my family will be when I head home for the holidays.

My Monday’s have been filled with far more eggs than I would normally eat. If you’re making this change for an animal welfare perspective, I’d suggest going vegan on these days and not only vegetarian – but that’s a story for another day! I would say a change everyone should be looking to make is ensuring the meat we buy is of a high welfare standard – look for RSPCA assured meat or the red tractor logo. The UK has far higher welfare standards than other countries around the world, so at the very least Back British!

I think the biggest takeaway for me is to be conscious of what we are eating. I will continue my Meat-Free Monday journey, but I won’t be filling your inboxes with my progress!

One thought on “Meat-Free Monday: The Final Take

  1. I commend you for taking on & following through with this challenge, and am glad you have found it to be something you can try to continue with. I know that it doesn’t seem like much as just one person, but imagine the impact if more people followed suit! Thanks for sharing this project with us (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

