Television Christmas

I can’t be the only person who has noticed shows like to decorate their sets around this time of year with some festive accessories. This year, the one thing that I have noticed the most is the “presents” under the tree.

Why are they there?

In most households the tree probably goes up before all the presents are bought so we see the tree without presents underneath it, but after Christmas when all the gifts have been distributed and opened, under the tree remains bare. If we have seen a tree in our own home without presents under it I am sure the viewers will understand if the television set doesn’t have presents under it.

The presence of the presents frustrates me more due to the various sizes of perfectly square shapes under the tree. I don’t know about you, but if I had a tree with solely cubes under it I would be surprised. Clearly, PJs and bottles aren’t gifts you get in the television world. Obviously, a poor person has been tasked with wrapping the gifts – let’s be honest probably an intern – so they can’t be trusted with unusual shapes but this is again unrepresentative. I also don’t think I have ever seen a tree where every single present has been wrapped with a different wrapping paper. Or with such a variety of ribbons. No wonder the poor person tasked with wrapping the gifts chose easy shapes to wrap!

I appreciate the producers want to make the set look festive, but I am sure this can be achieved without the need for copious colourful boxes under the Christmas tree.

One thought on “Television Christmas

Leave a Reply

